Board Members

The Nebraska Ethanol Board’s seven members are appointed by the governor. Each member represents a specific area or interest related to Nebraska’s ethanol industry. The board also has a technical advisor from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, who serves as a non-voting member of the board.


Jan tenBensel, Chairman (Wheat)
Appointed: October 2015



Scott McPheeters, Vice Chair (Business)
Appointed: February 2017



rsz_1randyRandy Gard, Secretary (Petroleum)
Appointed: September 2016



Mike Thede (General Farming)
Appointed: September 2006



Tim Else (Sorghum)
Appointed: September 2003



Taylor Nelson (Corn)
Appointed: September 2017



Brad Bird (Labor)
Appointed: November 2017



Hunter-FlodmanHunter Flodman, Ph.D. Chemical Engineering (Technical Advisor)
Appointed: November 2014

The Advancement of Ethanol in Nebraska